A2 milk

Have you ever wondered why some people are milk intolerant but can take goats milk? We have been told that they do not produce the rennet as they grow older. The rennet is acidic and curdles milk ready for digestion. Then we were told that it is the lactose or milk sugar. Yet human milk contains up to twice the lactose of cows or goats milk. Goats milk contain only about 10% less lactose than cows milk. So is lactose the answer?

We might have to go back to the breeding of cows to understand why so many Western people are milk intolerant. On a world-wide scale cows are less common than goats, sheep, buffalo, yaks, reindeer and other mammals that produce milk that humans consume.

Most of the proteins in milk are called caseins. In European herds, particularly Friesan and Holstein there is a strain of protein called alpha s1 beta casein. By breeding out these strains a major milk producer has encouraged a strain of cow that produces a2 beta casein. Goats naturally produce this casein anyway.

If you find that you suffer from bloating, nausea, diarrhoea and constipation try staying off dairy for 2 weeks then switching to a2 milk that is now available in some shops. Also be aware of cheeses. Again stay off cheese for 2 to 3 weeks then try goats cheese or some of the Alpine high pasture cheeses.